Me love Cookies!

Image

I really do love cookies in all shapes and forms and was recently given a copy of Darina Allen’s Ballymaloe cookery course (where has this book been all my life!) I was keen to try her chocolate chip cookies, described as being the ‘quintessential American cookie’.

Looking in my cupboard I soon realised I didn’t have all the right ingredients but I’ve never let that stop me before, I like a bit of improvisation so what you see below is my version of Darina Allen’s recipe…enjoy!

 

Ingredients

  • 225g slightly salted butterImage
  • 200g light muscovado sugar
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 350g plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 150g dark chocolate buttons (I used Cocoa Loco ones of course)
  • 50g chopped hazelnuts
  • 60g chopped candied orange peel

Preheat oven 180c/350f/gas 4

Beat together the 2 sugars with the butter until pale and fluffy.

Add the beaten egg a little at a time, then the vanilla extract.

Mix in the chocolate, hazelnuts and orange peel.

Add the rest of the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly.

Divide the mixture into walnut sized pieces and place on a greased baking sheet, making sure you leave plenty of room for the cookies to spread while baking.

Bake for about 9 minutes until golden brown.

Leave to cool on the tray for about 5 minutes then move carefully across to cooling rack.

This will make about 30 cookies, try not to eat them all at once!

Variations: I fancy trying these next with white chocolate and almonds and a pinch of cardamom.

ImageImage

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment